Bacon and Pea Pizza with Herb Dipping Sauce

This recipe is brought to you by Nicole via shutterbean.  I was originally drawn to this recipe because I thought fresh peas would be available at the farmers’ market (I was a couple of weeks early, but frozen worked just fine).  First up, pizza dough!  There are tons of recipes available online and in cookbooks for dough.  The basic ingredients are yeast, warm water and flour.  Some recipes will include olive oil, salt, sugar and/or herbs.  The other differences come in kneading time and rising time.  I picked a no knead dough with a short rise time.  There was a pinch of salt as well as a bit of sugar and olive oil for added flavor.

Ready to Mix!

Ready to Mix!

I let my stand mixer do most of the work and then put the dough in window to rise in the sun.  After rising (and a bit of kneading on my part) I put the dough into the fridge until I was ready to bake.

Flower Helped the Rising

Flowers Helped the Rising

After the dough is made the pizza comes together really quickly.  In fact, next time I might just buy dough from the store.  Most grocery stores now carry white, wheat and herb dough.  I would stay away from the herb dough though, not wanting to take away from the flavors of the pizza.

Back to cooking.  I took the dough out of the fridge (I only used half of what the recipe made) to warm up for easier rolling and started prepping my topping ingredients.

Ready to Dress the Pizza!

Ready to Dress the Pizza!

I used four strips of bacon instead of three because mine was really fatty and I trimmed quite a bit off.  My thawed peas, looking forward to my garden peas ripening!  Crushed red pepper, I finally gave in and bought the big jar from Costco- a good investment.  Three thinly sliced garlic cloves.  Three green onions sliced, the original recipe called for two but I was able to find these at the farmers’ market and they were so beautiful I went for more.  Mozzarella and aged cheddar, I did a 50/50 combo, about a cup and a half total.  I rolled out the dough on a pan greased with olive oil so it wouldn’t stick.  Baked at 450 for twenty minutes.

Instead of fresh mint on top I had some cilantro and parsley to use so a made an herb dipping sauce.

Fresh Herbs

Fresh Herbs

I put a handful of both herbs in the food processor with salt, pepper, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice.  This wasn’t very precise, just taste and add lemon, salt, olive oil as needed.  Apologies for the following picture the quality isn’t great, but this sauce tasty!  On the pizza, added to sandwiches, just with bread.

Thick Sauce!

Thick Sauce!

The sauce came together just as the pizza came out of the oven.  I gave the pizza a generous squeeze of fresh lemon right as it came out.  Don’t skip this step, it brightened the whole dish!

Pizza!

Pizza!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

