Creamy Chipotle Pepper Pasta Salad

This is an original recipe brought to you by Nicole.  This is an accidental recipe, I had intended to make taco salad for dinner but lettuce of some sort was necessary.  I had no greens so pasta it was!  I decided to document my experiment,  The first outcome was tasty but a little dry so I had to dress it up.

First I gathered my ingredients.

Chipotle Pasta Salad Ingredients

Chipotle Pasta Salad Ingredients

I thought of changing the name of this recipe to yellow pasta salad.  Yellow tomatoes, yellow sweet bell peppers, yellow (cheddar) cheese!  Also red onion, black beans and cilantro.  Later in the summer when corn is in season I’d add it for some crunch.

Chopped Pasta Salad Ingredients

Chopped Pasta Salad Ingredients

I used a whole can of drained and rinsed black beans, 1/3 of a large red onion, a handful of yellow onions and baby bell peppers.  There was a bout 1/3 of a cup of diced cheddar and almost a cup of chopped cilantro.  All ingredient amounts could be adjusted for taste.  While chopping I was cooking penne pasta, I think rigatoni would have been better but the penne held up pretty well.

Next up dressing.

Dressing Ingredients

Dressing Ingredients

Two crushed garlic cloves, juice of half a lemon, two chipotle in adobo peppers, a small container of plain Greek yogurt, 2 tbsp milk, 2 tsp apple cider vinegar, salt and pepper to taste.  Blend it up!

Blended Dressing

Blended Dressing

I added the (cooled) pasta to the veggies and beans and dressed the whole thing with the dressing.

Finished Pasta Salad

Finished Pasta Salad

Dig in!  This was tasty, but a little dry and lacking salt.  I made another batch of the dressing, adding and additional chipotle pepper and more salt this time.

More Dressing and Toppings!

More Dressing and Toppings!

With the additional dressing and toppings of avocado, more cilantro and pepitas the salad was complete.  Yumm!

Any ideas on what else I could add to this salad?

Have you created a new recipe when you lacked a key ingredient to your intended recipe?

 

2 thoughts on “Creamy Chipotle Pepper Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

