Na’ama’s Fattoush

This is another adaptation by Nicole from Jerusalem a Cookbook by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi.  I was skeptical of this salad recipe that had a base of flat bread soaked in buttermilk and no leafy greens, but every time I opened the cookbook I found myself going back to its page.  When I realized I had almost all of the ingredients or reasonable substitutes on hand, I decided to go for it.

Let’s start with the veggies.

Veggies Ready for Prep

Veggies Ready for Prep

Half a cup of grape tomatoes, two mini cucumbers, three mini sweet peppers, three radishes (I would have used more but this was all the garden gave me), two green onions, a clove of garlic, the juice of half a lemon, a big handful of parsley and half as much mint.  It doesn’t look like a lot in this big bowl, but once chopped these veggies tripled in size!

The Rest of the Ingredients

The Rest of the Ingredients

Half a cup of buttermilk, two tbsp olive oil, one tbsp cider vinegar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, topped with a dusting of crumbled feta and smoked paprika.  Finally, I didn’t have stale flat bread like the recipe called for but I did have lavash.  I put the lavash in the oven at low heat to crisp it up since it was fresh.  While it dried out, I chopped the veggies.

All Chopped Up!

All Chopped Up!

I got what I could locally (the herbs from right out back!) but the tomatoes, peppers and cucumbers still aren’t available in the NW.  Soon though, every week more colors and varieties are showing up at the farmers market.  Now for the part I was unsure about- the lavash soaking in buttermilk.

Bread in Milk

Bread in Milk

This recipe was really easy- just chop, put it all  in bowl, mix it up and let rest for ten minutes.  The original recipe called for sumac.  I’ve never had sumac but from what I’ve read it’s a pretty unique flavor without a good substitution.  I opted for paprika for color only.  I also added a little feta on top because, yum!

Ready to Eat!

Ready to Eat!

At first bite I knew it was silly to have been skeptical of the bread soaked in buttermilk.  It was delicious.  So fresh and bright tasting.   I liked the combo of veggies that I used but I think a bit of hot pepper could be added or maybe some garbanzo beans.  I will no longer shy away from salads with bread!

Another salad by Nicole, I need to mix up my eating!  Do you have a favorite food you always go back to?

Leave a Reply

