Tomatoes Part Two!

I like Thursdays at work.  The work week is already over halfway done, the day is usually busy (which makes it go by quickly), it’s also doughnut day!  In an effort to inspire health my co-worker has been bringing in a veggie tray in addition to the doughnuts.  While I don’t often get inspired from broccoli florets and celery sticks at 8 am, I did find a bag of cherry tomatoes from another co-worker left on my desk inspiring!

By the time I got home, I knew exactly what I was going to do with them.  I combined my friend’s yellow tomatoes with a few reds that I had on hand to make soup!  Yes soup in ninety degree weather!  I love soup and have gone without for months, tonight I decided I was eating it regardless of the heat, but I was going to do my best to not warm up the house even more.

A little heat was necessary so I started by roasting two cups of tomatoes.

Two cups tomatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.

Two cups tomatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.

Twenty minutes at 425 degrees.  As an afterthought I through on a few sprigs of thyme and two cloves of garlic.  I knew the tomatoes were ready when I heard them popping.

A couple of months ago I invested in a high powered fancy blender.  I’d read that the friction in the blender was enough that it would actually increase the heat of the ingredients.  Tonight was the perfect night to test it out- no stove top to further increase the temperature in the house.

 

Tomatoes and garlic!

Sorry for the bad picture!  I simply dumped the tomatoes and garlic into the blender.  I included the oil but pulled out the thyme sprigs.  Put the lid on (thank you high tech blender, no explosions!) and hit the soup button.

I wanted a grilled cheese with the soup, but all I had in the fridge was a Mexican blend.  Again, avoiding the stove I was using my panini press.  Because I was using a Mexican blend cheese, I decided to dress up the soup with Mexican flavors.  Sour cream, a sprinkle of cumin, and a dash of chili powder.

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

This was so good!  Savory and fresh.  Perfect for one.  The soup was surprisingly filling and could easily be stretched into two servings, especially with the addition of some veggie or chicken broth.

What tricks do you use in the heat to keep the house cool while still craving hot food?

Leave a Reply

