Stuffed Anaheim Peppers

I was a vegetarian for many years, almost a decade.  I’m still not a big meat eater, but on occasion I get a really strong craving.  Unlike most antidotes it wasn’t bacon that did me in, the culprit was rotisserie chicken.  I was at a office warming party out of town.  I had driven five hours to be there for my dad’s big day.  Before I could even congratulate my dad, the smell of chicken that had been slowly roasting all night caught me.  What happened next is blurry in my mind but my mom claims to have found me, fifteen minutes later, in a corner with chicken.

These days chicken is on the bottom of the list for meat choices but I still have a soft spot for rotisserie chicken.  That is how I found myself bringing home an entire chicken this weekend.  I know it is impossible for me to eat the entire thing before I start getting worried about it going bad, but I just couldn’t resist.  In an effort to not waste most of the bird I picked all of the meat off the bones and froze 3/4 of it.  I also froze the bones to make homemade broth once the weather cools.  With the remaining chicken I decided to make stuffed Anaheim peppers.

First up prepare the stuffing.

To be stuffed!

To be stuffed!

Clockwise from top left- 3/4 cup halved cherry tomatoes, 1/2 cup red onion diced, 1 cup chopped chicken (I used white and dark meat), 1 jalapeno, 1 cup cilantro (I am a big cilantro fan!).  Depending one your taste you could go chicken heavy or tomato heavy, whatever you like!

I added these to one can of black beans and 3/4 grated sharp cheddar cheese.

Beans and cheese!

Beans and cheese!

I had picked up some Anaheims form a Mexican market down the street.  I took off the tops and removed the seeds.

Ready to be stuffed

Ready to be stuffed

I packed these as full and as tight as I could get them prior to baking.  I knew I would need some sort of liquid to put in the bottom of the baking dish to help steam the peppers.  Broth?  That sounded too boring.  I considered a can of Mexican style chopped tomatoes.  Then a jar of homemade roasted salsa verde given to me by a friend caught my eye.  I must say, good call!  It had a smokey flavor and was full of heat, but not an overwhelming amount.  I spread the salsa on the bottom of my baking dish to just barely coat it.

Ready for peppers

Ready for peppers

I arranged the stuffed pepper in to the dish and covered with foil.  Forty to forty five minutes at 350 degrees.

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Check that the peppers have softened and then broil for five minutes to get a bit of char on the skin.

Topped with more salsa verde and sour cream

Topped with more salsa verde and sour cream

Sorry for the dark picture!  This was awfully tasty.  I’m not sure how much credit I can take for it and how much was the super salsa.  This meal worked well for me because I was able to pull out a pepper (or two) at a time to put under the broiler after the initial bake to make single serving portions.

What do you do with rotisserie chickens?  Any favorite stuffed pepper dishes?

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Anaheim Peppers

Leave a Reply

