Weeknight tomato jam and stupid complicated BLTs!

 

Look at the beautiful colors on those backyard tomatoes!!

Look at the beautiful colors on those backyard tomatoes!!

My abundance of tomatoes continues.  As much as I enjoy tomato and cucumber salad, it’s fun challenging myself to come up with interesting things to do with my bounty.  I’ve been toying around with canning a bunch of tomato jam to preserve and enjoy throughout the year.  First I must settle on a recipe to use- there are tons on the internet.  The main components are tomatoes (obviously), lots of sugar, spice and vinegar or some other sort of acid.

Tonight I decided to play around with the flavor combinations on my own to make a small version of a stove top jam.

Jam components

Jam components

1.5 cups chopped tomato

1/2 medium red onion

1/3 cup white sugar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 pepper

 

Dump everything in a small saucepan and bring to a boil.  Once the mixture has begun to boil, reduce heat to medium and simmer until the tomatoes have fully burst and the sauce has reduced by half.

For my first try this was pretty tasty.  Next time I’ll reduce the sugar a bit and maybe substitute a portion of it with honey or brown sugar.  I’ll also increase the acidity- perhaps some lemon zest or an increase in vinegar.

Once my tomato jam was cooling I got to work on my fancy BLT.  Why mess with a BLT?  I’m not sure, just to make thing more complicated it guess!

BLT componets

BLT componets

Fancy baguette instead of sandwich bread.  Goat cheese and avocado instead of mayo.  Tomato jam in lieu of tomatoes!  I used a spring mix and “artisan” bacon, whatever that means!!

As a side note, I used Metropol bread.  I love bread, I love this bread the best of all.  Maybe it’s just because it’s the first “fancy” bread I was introduced to as a kid, but I can honestly say nothing beats this stuff!  My oldest friend in the world- who has lived in big cities with access to fantastic bakeries all over the country would agree.  Every time she comes back to Eugene she requests that a Metropol baguette greet her first thing.

I mention this because as much as I love this bread, I didn’t want to fill up too quickly on it.  I carve out a bit in the middle- saving the insides for breadcrumbs in the future.  My new hollowed out pieces are easier to stuff.

Bread, missing its middle

Bread, missing its middle

Time to make the BLT!  I used the avocado to coat one side and a goat cheese and tomato jam mixture for the other.

Ready to be assembled

Ready to be assembled

Add bacon and lettuce and it is ready to eat!

Fancy BLT

Fancy BLT

Yum, yum, yum!  As I mentioned before the jam could have used a bit more acid.  Maybe a big slice of tomato would have put this sandwich over the top, but as it was it certainly was tasty!

Do you preserve food?  Favorite recipes?

Do you ever dress up everyday foods?

Leave a Reply

